Longparish Village Handbook (1999 edition)
<< Previous Page
Next Page >>

Village Amenities

Shop and Post Office

In the past Longparish was much better provided with local services than it is now, and they were concentrated in Middleton. The local farmers, Mr Snow at Southside, Mr Lywood at Forton and Mr Beaves at Church Farm, had milk rounds. There were two coalyards: Turton’s behind the Methodist Chapel on Southside Road, and Englefield’s where Shallow Waters now stands, which both closed in the early 1960s. There was a blacksmith by what is now Blacksmith’s Bridge on Southside Road. Opposite Englefield’s there was a shop on the corner of Brookside. In the 19th century it was a cobbler’s, and more recently a small general store. It closed about 1964. Stream Stores, on the other corner, was a shop until the late 1980s, and at one time had a butcher’s shop run by Mr Kail on the end. Where Lacey Gates now stands there was a small cafe, run by the Judd brothers, from about 1930 to 1960. This was very popular in the war. Mr Ted Plummer had a bicycle repair shop on the side at one time.

Since the closing of Stream Stores, and of the old Post Office nearly opposite the grindstone, the only shop left is the Londis store at North Acre, which includes the Post Office. It sells groceries, basic stationery, toiletries, Calor gas, National Lottery tickets and also has an off licence. Dry cleaning can be left there. Newspapers and magazines are sold in the shop or can be delivered. Increased car ownership and the popularity and availability of supermarkets has made business difficult for small shops, and the warning to all residents, based on the experience of other villages, is “Use it or lose it”.

Contact and Search


Menu design based on one copyright © Stu Nicholls

This site uses CSS. To see it at its best, you should use a browser that understands them. See, for example, www.mozilla.com